Lunchtime lust: decorating with spice yellows

Nothing like a cheery spot of yellow to brighten up a tame Tuesday. I love these decorating schemes from Ideal Home. The style team are spot on – yellow has a reputation for being a zingy, energising colour when in fact, if you choose the right earthy tone, it can also create a mellow mood.

This is perfect for when you’re in a ‘not even a smiley sunflower can cheer me up today’ mood. Check out these decorating ideas

Be inspired city chic. The dining room features a mixed bag of concrete greys, sunshine yellow accents and a combination of wood and steel pieces.

roomenvy - mellow yellow dining room

roomenvy - mellow yellow dining room

I love the statement storage wall in this living room. Paint the back of the cubbies in a matching shade of yellow for an eye-popping focal point.

roomenvy - yellow accents living room

roomenvy - yellow accents living room

Stylist’s tip: Make patterns pop bu surrounding them with pieces in solid colours as seen in this bedroom decorating scheme.

roomenvy - modern boutique bedroom

roomenvy - modern boutique bedroom

DIY tip of the day! Frame wallpaper with painted moulding to create your own wall art.

roomenvy - yellow feature wall

roomenvy - yellow feature wall

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Lunchtime lust: decorating with spice yellows”

  1. Hannah Says:

    Spicy! I like it, particularly the bedding

  2. aroundmytable Says:

    I didn’t think that this yellow could be the colour for me, but in combination with black & white it loooks just fantastic. Great post!

  3. Diygirl Says:

    That’s some great advice on decorating. I especially like the bedroom decor and the tetris inspired shadow boxes!

    I’m currently in the middle of a home remodel and hope to move on to decorating soon! I’ll definitely keep your blog in mind during my journey.

    Please check out my blog at http://home-remodel.posterous.com/
    I’d love to hear what you think!

  4. Keska George @ KG Style Says:

    The punches of color that the yellow brings in the black and white design are just divine. It does have a very soothing effect although yellow is often thought to be a much stronger color.

  5. Home Decor Accents | Garden Accents | Outdoor Decorations Says:

    The accent that the Yellow color sets in the otherwise black and white bedding set is just gorgeous. I actually never really cared too much about yellow as a color for interior design and decoration but those examples just taught me a really good lesson.

Leave a comment